Organisation Internationale de Droit du Développement

Supporting Devolution in Kenya

The Constitution of Kenya, adopted in 2010, made way for a new governance system composed of a national government and 47 county governments. Most of the assistance provided to the county governments has been focused on technical support. However, there is also a need to support the preparation of quality draft legislation to the county assemblies so that it meets the constitutional requirements. 

IDLO’s work in support of devolution therefore focuses mainly on three areas: building the capacity of county governments to develop legislation for the devolved functions, facilitating coordination between the national and county levels of government, and strengthening systems for fiscal decentralization and accountability.

Publications that may interest you: